Public Safety

The Public Safety Division of the Weld County Sheriff’s Office works daily to prevent crime and assist the citizens of Weld County during critical incidents. The Weld County Sheriff's Office’s Public Safety Division is comprised of several smaller, specialty units that contribute to the overall mission of the division.

Specialty units include:

  • Patrol
  • SWAT (Special Weapons and Tactics)
  • Investigations
  • K9
  • Animal Control
  • Field Evidence Technicians
  • Field Training Officers
  • Posse/Reserve/Volunteer


The Patrol Division consists of deputies who patrol the four districts in our jurisdiction that spans the 4,017 square miles that make up Weld County.

Patrol deputies work around the clock to enforce traffic and respond to calls for service that are routed through the Weld County Regional Communications Center.